THE FREEBIE JUNKIE RECOMMENDS

Blog Archive

Indie Author Holiday Gift Guide & Kindle Paperwhite Package #Giveaway




The Best in Indie Book Gifts


If you love to read check out the Indie Author Gift Guide below.  There are a lot to choose from - go surprise your loved ones this Christmas!  Make your way to the end of this post as there is a nice giveaway offer for my readers!  Good luck.


Horns of the Devil by Marc Rainer



The second book in the Jeff Trask crime/legal thriller series, a series hailed for its realism by those in the law enforcement career field, Horns of the Devil is the story of the havoc wreaked upon the nation's capital city by a drug gang turf war. As one career prosecutor wrote, "As a long-time prosecutor, I continue to be astounded by Rainer's perfect pitch for police/prosecutor dialogue. Outstanding Read! Rainer is way ahead of his contemporaries in this genre."


Price: $2.99 (Kindle) $9.45 (Paperback) via Amazon


For: Thriller Fans


Palmetto Review Take:  Nonstop legal and procedural crime novel that’s rich with detail and suspense.


More: You Tube clip (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IV5P2awy__g)



Too Quiet In Brooklyn: A Fina Fitzgibbons Mystery by Susan Russo Anderson



Twenty-two-year-old Fina Fitzgibbons stumbles upon a throttled woman in the heart of Brooklyn Heights and discovers that the dead woman’s four-year-old grandson is also missing. She begins a wild hunt for the strangler-kidnapper, Ralph. During the chase, she resists falling in love with her boyfriend, Denny, an NYPD patrol officer, steps on the toes of Detective First Grade Jane Templeton, and uncovers secrets about her own past. In the end, Ralph has a deadly surprise for Fina.


Price: $.99 (Pre-order) $3.99 (After 12/20/2013)


For: New Adult


Palmetto Review Take: Crime, passion, and New York City - count us in!


More: Follow @susanrussoander




Tug of War by Ross Collier



An action packed, tension filled espionage thriller set in Melbourne, Australia during WW2, based on actual events between the US forces and the Australians.


Price: $2.99 (Kindle) $16.95 (Paperback)


For: Fans of Thrillers and Espionage


Palmetto Review Take: A fresh plot line to enjoy as you follow the political intrigue down under in this historical look at the relations between two seemingly cozy nations as friction emerges.


More: Follow @CollierRoss




Night Chill by Jeff Gunhus



For fans of Stephen King and Dean Koontz -- Enjoy a creepy supernatural thriller with over 100 Five Star Amazon Reviews.


Price: $2.99 (Kindle) $12.78 (Paperback) via Amazon and Audible (12/20/2013)


For: Adult Supernatural Thriller and Horror Fans


Palmetto Review Take: One of the most highly rated books we’ve reviewed, read at your own risk of being frightened half to death.


More: Follow @jtmonsterhunter




The Jack Templar Monster Hunter Series - Books 1-3 by Jeff Gunhus



A new series for fans of Harry Potter and Percy Jackson.


Price: $.99 (Kindle) $9.79 (Paperback) and Audible (12/20/2013)


For: Middle Grade and YA


Palmetto Review Take: Ignite your imagination with this trio of supernatural books focused on monsters, mystery, and mythical adventure.


More: You Tube clip (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hNeq99GVzVE)




Vengeance Out of the Shadows by David Peretz



In the third thriller to feature Ross Cortese, NYPD, the detective contends with both a killer targeting landlords and a Russian assassin out for retribution. Kirkus Review described it as "a seamless blending of stories and first-rate characterizations."


Price: $4.99 (Kindle) $11.25 (Paperback)


For: Suspense, Romance, and Thriller Fans


Palmetto Review Take: Indie Must-Read Book of Summer Winner as voted on by everyday readers.  


More: You Tube clip (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UpYLmI7xIyk) Visit NYPD Crime Novels and Fan on Facebook



Lunch with Lucille by Annarose Ingarra-Milch



Readers can expect to be inspired and entertained as “Lunch with Lucille” whips up a delightful dish of hope and optimism, served by a fun-loving, sassy, female character who shares a message all women need to hear – you are your best asset, at any age. Voted overwhelming the Buzzworthy Book of Summer, “LwL” overflows with nourishing wisdom and humor as you are treated to simple, practical solutions to some prickly issues such as aging, confidence, self image, and achievement. This fast-paced novella is thought provoking and leaves you hungry for the next course.


Price: $4.99 (Kindle) $13.13 (Paperback)


For: Women


Palmetto Review Take: A perfect gift for any woman in need of Inspiration.


More: You Tube clip (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zMDD-X1X-Xg)



Tall, Dark, and Handsome and Other Devotionals by Christopher Hall



A collection of Christian devotionals based on one man’s life experiences. “This book makes you think! It is funny, uplifting and a down to earth view of Christianity. We all have those bad days at work that make you wonder if it is it all worth it. Chris Hall takes a bad day and redirects it to a lesson in Christ... I highly recommend this book to all my friends.” Karen Brooks-Rochelle


Price: $5.99 (Kindle) $11.57 (Paperback) via Amazon


For: Anyone interested in uplifting stories related to Christian Living


Palmetto Review Take: Deepen your walk in faith, or take your first step to finding it with this inspirational book rooted in the real world, and written for you to discover the next.


More: Fan the author on Facebook



At The Gates of Walhalla By Justen Forge



Suspense, intrigue, and action. A page turner that makes you feel like you're in the scenes. This novel sets itself apart with its vivid writing and top notch storytelling. Perfectly priced so you can give this to all the readers on your Christmas shopping list.


Price: $2.99 (Kindle)


For: Thriller & Mystery Fans


Palmetto Review Take: After a horrific series of events a hero emerges to set wrongs right in spellbinding detail.


More: Embed video clip (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZiDlihGXyOY)




Liberty's Torch (Dystopia Trilogy Book 3) by Janet McNulty



Expect excitement action, and to learn the meaning of true sacrifice. All it takes is one spark to ignite Liberty's Torch.


Price: $2.99 (Kindle) via Amazon

For: YA, Teens, Dystopian Genre Fans, Those Who Like Strong Female Characters


Palmetto Review Take: Like Hunger Games and Divergent, this dystopian drama is both entertaining and plausible.


More: Embed video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z-CJb-hrRV8&feature=youtu.be)


Ready For A Giveaway?
One Very Lucky Reader Will Win a Kindle Paperwhite prize package complete with:

Kindle Paperwhite
$50 Amazon Gift Card
One copy of each book included in the holiday gift guide

To enter, just complete the options included below on the GiveawayTools form. Be sure to come back each day for additional entries, such as daily tweets! This giveaway is open to US Readers, 18+ years of age, begins Monday, December 16th and will end on Tuesday, December 31st at 11:59pm. Good Luck!



Disclosure: Prizes will be provided by Children Teaching Mama and Reader Spoils.



Enter your email address for access to fun freebies, steals and deals Delivered by FeedBurner

HURRY: Check for your FREE $10-$30 RUE LA LA CREDIT!

If you are a Rue La La member (Daily deal website) check your email or your account as you may have an AWESOME surprise in your account. I received a $30 credit to my Rue La La account. Some may get between $10-$30. Worth checking! If you are not a member sign up here.
Come back and tell us if you scored a surprise.

Enter your email address for access to fun freebies, steals and deals Delivered by FeedBurner

Kindle Paperwhite Giveaway Event


With the cold weather of fall sweeping in, now is a great time to catch up on reading. Here's a list of some incredible trending indie authors. Be sure to pick your favorite and vote on Facebook! Then, go below for your chance to win a Kindle Paperwhite!

The Hollow Man by Paul Hollis


This new thriller, based on true events, follows a young field analyst from a U.S. government agency assigned to study emerging terror tactics. He's charged with watching over the unpopular prime minister of Spain, Luis Carrero Blanco. When a terrorist's deadly plot kills Blanco, the analyst begins a cat-and-mouse chase across Europe with Chaban, the mastermind assassin, narrowly escaping death again and again in this fast-paced thriller.

Genre: Thriller
E-Book Price $4.99



Chosen: Path of Heros by Kyla Price


In her first novel, Chosen: The Path of Heroes, Kyla Price weaves a tale of high school, high wizardry and high adventure, as four teenagers are drawn to the parallel world Kambia, whose Empress faces a great threat from an evil overlord. “Now is the time to assemble the Chosen.”

Genre: Fantasy Fiction
E-Book Price: $9.99



Night Chill by Jeff Gunhus


In his debut novel for adults, bestselling MG/YA author Jeff Gunhus (known for his Jack Templar Monster Hunter books) has won outstanding reviews for his supernatural thriller which has drawn comparisons to Stephen King and Dean Koontz. Come see why this novel is consistently on the Amazon horror bestseller lists. Also look for the new audio book from Audible.com and Amazon available mid-December.

Genre: Horror
Price: $2.99



What Will Not Kill You … A Memoir by Annemarie Duparc


Retired Magistrate pens memoir confronting feminist issues like sexim in the workplace, along with societal plagues like depression and divorce. This memoir is a story as well as a study of sustained resilience. You'll not find slavery, poverty or exile in the author's background. Her distress was not collective but individual, brought on by circumstances which fostered a sleep disorder and depression. Perhaps therefore harder to survive, and yet so common in our society, although hardly acknowledged.

Genre: Memoir
Price: $15.26



The Curious Caves of Honey Cove by Samantha McDermott


"A city girl is challenged by a handsome beachcomer to uncover what is going on in the ominous caves and which nice townspeople are involved in it."


"If you're exhausted from mankind's blood-and-gore history that continues into the present and will continue evermore, if you're weary from the savage stories in the news, which the Hollywood entertainment industry loves to pick up and produce; if you would like a gentle, heart-warming story--without the gratuitous grisly graphics--placed in a bracing rocky-beach setting, I recommend this shining and witty book, The Curious Caves of Honey Cove, by Samantha McDermott. This is a mystery but it's not just a mystery! This wise author will renew your faith in humanity.” - Bonnie Langhaar

Genre: Cosy Mystery
Price: $9.99



Aztlan by J.D. Parker


Four teenagers stumble upon a terrorist plot to spray nerve agent over Southern California from crop dusting planes, they video the planes getting ready to take off from the desert outside Los Angeles, steal the terrorist’s laptop and some antidote to the nerve gas, contact Homeland Security and flee across the desert pursued by the terrorists and Special Forces sent to rescue them as Los Angeles reels from the devastating attack from the one plane that wasn’t shot down before reaching the city.

Genre: Thriller

Price: $9.99



Ready For A Chance To Win?
Thanks to Reader Spoils, one lucky reader will win a Kindle Paperwhite! Simply enter to win through the form below.

One winner will be chosen at random from all valid entries to receive a Kindle Paperwhite valued at $139.00! Don't forget to vote for your favorite book AND come back for daily entries! The event ends on Monday, December 16th at 11:59pm and is open to US residents only. Good Luck!

Enter your email address for access to fun freebies, steals and deals Delivered by FeedBurner